Album Review of Barren Earth’s upcoming release – “A Complex of Cages” – Release date 3/30/18

Hailing from Finland, the six piece master musicians, BARREN EARTH are set to release a new album titled A Complex of Cages” on March 30, 2018.  They have been described as progressive death metal, but in reality they encompass so much more, even hints of 70’s prog rock which blends effortlessly. The unique sound they deliver is intricate and yet full metal.

As with their new single, “The Ruby”, BARREN EARTH have raised the bar for metal even more.  With killer riffs and a melodic chorus which is easy to sing along to, the song becomes a quick favorite. The song “Spire” is another no holds barred assault which immediately gets the blood going, which I’m sure is to get circle pits at live shows!  Not only can BARREN EARTH produce metal, but on the opposite side of the spectrum, the band is able to give the listener beautiful imagery such as in the song “Withdrawal”.  I swear you can almost feel the pain and agony being pulled from the deep depths of darkness.

Many times while listening, I kept imagining days of old, when men would dress in leather and whatever armor they could gather; strap on the weapons and board wooden boats.  Then set sail to go to war, knowing they may not come back home; but going forward; determined.

Is this strange or an intentional reaction intended for listeners, or maybe each person may have their own experience and interpretation.

The complexity and dense layers within this album are many, which makes for an excellent release in which the listener will get more out of it with each listen.  Not many albums can do this, but BARREN EARTH has been able to accomplish with this very feat with A Complex of Cages”.

As stated by guitarist Janne:  “The very reason the band exists is purely musical, that’s the way it’s always been. It was born out of a need, a passion. For each of us the band continues to be a product of love for music and the continuing search for that said release that comes from creating something new and beautiful.

Written by Rene Botello

Click here to pre-order “A Complex of Cages”

Track listing for A Complex of Cages

  1. The Living Fortress
  2. Ruby
  3. Further Down
  4. Zeal
  5. Scatterprey
  6. Solitude Pith
  7. Dysphoria
  8. Spire
  9. Withdrawal


3/30  Helsinki, FI – Kuudes Linja


Marko Tarvonen – Drums
Olli-Pekka Laine – Bass
Antti Myllynen – Keyboards
Jón Aldará – Vocals
Sami Yli-Sirniö – Lead guitars
Janne Perttilä – Rhythm guitars





Century Media online:



Related posts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.