Flaw is Ready for the World to Hear VOL IV: Because of the Brave

Flaw is Ready for the World to Hear VOL IV: Because of the Brave

By Cathy Moore


Louisville’s FLAW has been a mainstay in the hard rock/metal scene for over twenty years. With Chris Volz at the helm, the band has been touring the country nonstop. FLAW’s latest release, VOL IV: Because of the Brave, hits hard with a heavy sound apt for headbanging. Amid the rocking hooks, the band offers songs with a mixture of personal, patriotic, and heartfelt lyrics. The new album dropped on July 19, 2019, via Pavement Entertainment.

FLAW’s story began with the independent release of home-grown albums American Arrogance (1996), Flaw (1998) and Drama (2000).  It was the songs on these recordings that garnered the attention of Universal Republic Records, who signed the band and released the break-through Through the Eyes in 2001. The album topped the Billboard Heatseekers chart, largely fueled by the singles “Payback” and “Whole.”


Later the band would go through some tumultuous times including ending their relationship with the label and going through some personnel changes. But Volz continued to write music, tour with another band, and even released a solo project until 2015 when Flaw signed with a new label, Pavement Entertainment, and were ready to make music again. The following year, they released their next full-length studio album, Divided We Fall, and the EP, United We Stand, in 2017. After actively touring the US and making an appearance on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert with their single “Conquer This Climb,” FLAW is ready for the world to hear VOL IV: Because of the Brave.


Fans seem to love the new album from these veteran rockers and the new single is getting some great radio play. The very first track of the album, “Persistence”, really sets the tone for the 10-track release. It is heavy from the first note and hard-driven vocals that kicks off the album with a fantastic fierceness.


“Conquer This Climb” is the first single from the album and it is probably the most “typical” Flaw song (if such a thing exists). It has moments of melodic backing guitars intertwined with the raucous wailing guitars which creates a dichotomy that makes the song an interesting listen.


My favorite track on the album is the title track, which is an anthem about strength and sacrifice and overcoming the inevitable challenges we face in life. It is an ode to the men and women who have served our country and as the mother of an active duty Army son, this song really gripped my heart.


The last track on the album, “Lest We Forget,” is another standout track. The instrumentation is soaring and sensational – backing the words to American Bill of Rights. It’s a really unique song and a cool way to end an album that clearly is steeped in American pride.


The whole album has a sincere strength to it – each song a demonstration of genuine emotion, passionate patriotism, and masterful musicality. It might be Flaw’s best work to date.


Flaw is:
Chris Volz – Vocals
Tommy Gibbons AKA Noodles – Guitar
Rob Buttorff – Guitar
Georges Octobous – Drums


Connect with Flaw:

Official Website: https://flawband.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FLAWBAND/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BandFlaw

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/flaw_502/



Related posts

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: