Review Of Atala’s Upcoming Release “Labyrinth of Ashmedai” – Release Date 1/26/18

Twentynine Palms, CA based sludge/doom group Atala are set to release their third album “Labyrinth of Ashmedai” on Jan 26, 2018.

The band is comprised of Kyle Stratton (guitar, vocals), Jeff Tedtaotao (drums), and Dave Horn (bass).  Grains of Sand is the first single in which you can see the video below, giving you a taste of just how heavy and angry this album is and sets the weight throughout.  What sets Atala apart from other doom bands is how they are able to translate their personal experiences into music.

As front man Kyle Stratton states “we see and experience the effects of true struggles – war, poverty, death, drugs, gang violence, prostitution and murder.  Due to these experiences, doom/sludge metal is a perfect fit to express their raw emotions.  Heavy down tuned guitars, thick bass lines and thunderous drums fill this six song concept album.  No fillers here, just heavy as hell sludge metal to tread along with.


Check out “Grains of Sand” by Atala below:



Preorder Labyrinth of Ashmedai:



Track listing is as follows:

  1. Grains of Sand
  2. Tabernacle Of
  3. Death’s Dark Tomb
  4. I Am Legion
  5. Wilted Leaf
  6. Infernal


Follow Atala Online:




Review by Rene Botello for Rock All Photography Music Magazine

Follow Rene at http://metalinmetalout.com/


Related posts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.