Review of Allegaeon’s latest – “Apoptosis” – Released 4/19/2019 on Metal Blade Records

Review of Allegaeon’s latest – “Apoptosis” 

Released 4/19/2019 on Metal Blade Records


By Rene Botello


The tech death masters are back with a vengeance.  Apoptosis marks a new beginning of a new sound.  It’s still Allegaeon, but also an evolution of dark matter become sonic to assault your eardrums.

Different from their contemporaries, their lyrical stance brings nature and science to the forefront. Which is nothing to be scoffed at, since science can be one of the most brutal and beautiful things in existence. And just like science, the musical abilities of Allegaeon are equally dark and eloquent.

Each member is a masters of their craft and have pushed themselves beyond their previous effort Proponent For Sentience. New elements are sprinkled throughout, even adding some clean singing. Riley has proven to out growl the best of them and now he stretches himself even more by adding some clean vocals.  With this release, Allegaeon are venturing into new territory and easily prove them can beat the hell out of your favorite band without breaking a sweat.

“Thematically, this record is all about contrast, and the music reflects that perfectly,” says McShane. “The vocals are heavier than ever, but there are also more clean sections. The drums are faster than ever but also more dynamic, and the guitar playing is lower and slower than on most previous albums, but also provides long, melodic and beautiful sections throughout.”

If this is what Allegaeon has morphed into, I fully support them with both metal fists in the air!



Apoptosis track-listing

  1. Parthenogenesis
  2. Interphase // Meiosis
  3. Extremophiles (B)
  4. The Secular Age
  5. Exothermic Chemical Combustion
  6. Extremophiles (A)
  7. Metaphobia
  8. Tsunami and Submergence
  9. Colors of the Currents
  10. Stellar Tidal Disruption
  11. Apoptosis


Allegaeon online:





Related posts

Leave a Comment